St Andrew's School is an Educational Charity and is controlled by a Board of Governors. It is their responsibility to oversee everything that happens in the School from the welfare and education of it's pupils to appointing staff and making sure that the accounts are balanced. Whilst they do not set out to make a profit should one be made the money is ploughed back into the school. The Governors have a wide variety of backgrounds which ensures that when decisions are being made that they have a great deal of expertise at their disposal. In common with most charities the position of governor does not carry any remuneration. The detailed work of the School is delegated to expert staff who report on their work to the Governors at regular meetings. There are a number of committees which deal with the various aspects of school life and report to the full board of governors.

Over the years that the Charity has been in existence the School has made great strides in its educational attainments and in its facilities. It operates a policy of continual improvement to make sure that all the pupils in their care have the best that they can offer them and that they attain their full potential.

Mr Graham Bates OBE
Chair of Governors


The Governing Body is as follows (please click on the name to access individual profiles):

Graham Bates, Chair of Governors

Steve Williamson

Mary Burt

Elizabeth Coley

David Eyton-Williams 

Ivan Flack

Ashley Knight

Tricia Lennie, Sixth Form Governor

Jim Leydon

Clive Simmonds

Brian Thompson

John Wilkinson


The Chair of the Governing Body and all the members can be contacted direct in writing using the School's postal address or via email  at or telephone 01234 352031 (Mrs Diffey, the Clerk) is based at our partner school).